Monastery Architecture Sumela monastery is made of natural and very large, high cave with walls in front. After the first construction of the monastery, it appears to be a large group of buildings with successive structures, sometimes side by side, sometimes overlapping structures. In the 19th century, it was very rich in architecture and gained a magnificent view with new buildings. The faÁade of the monastery, which forms the focal point of the cave, is built with a wall and the chapel here completes the structure. These are limited to many cells and chapels of various sizes. It is seen that these buildings made of extremely irregular, masonry rubble stones have been completed with wooden elements as will be understood from the old paintings. On the right side of the courtyard, there is a library with guest cells that were thought to have been built in 1860 in the area overlooking the valley. The walls of the library, which were completely destroyed today, are read by the very large letters iri Bibliotheka Bug¸n.
In the frescoes of the Sumela monastery, the subjects mentioned in the Bible, Torah and Aynaros painting guide are discussed. The vast majority of the frescoes covering the outer surface of the monastery were thought to have been made by order of Calati (Gumushane) Mishabu (Papazbasi) Ignatios in 1710 - 1740. However, the frescoes that can be seen today are likely to have examples that can be dated to older histories. Most probably the early frescoes were renovated in 1740.